Sunshine, bows and showers…

Hello there! Are you enjoying the three day weekend? I love May for its two bank holidays.

IMG_1772

Yesterday we headed off to a Medieval Festival in Wendover. It was like a fantastic country fair with lots of  stalls, inflatables for the little ones and of course ice cream! We had a lovely afternoon pottering around. Little Pickle was particularly taken with throwing wet sponges at a man in the stocks and couldn’t quite believe that he was allowed to have five turns! Amongst the stalls was a gorgeous selection of fabrics and some truly stunning quilts by The Plainstitch Workroom. You can read more about it here. They offer a fantastic selection of workshops and I would really like to sign up for one of their Autumn quilting workshops. I couldn’t resist treating myself to some new fat quarters and came away with this little selection.

photo

So pretty and I have some special plans for them.

Last night Little Pickle had his first proper sleepover with his cousin. This was a real step forward for us and something that we could never have imagined happening even a couple of months ago. It felt so strange leaving him and coming home to an empty house. I think that I had to be braver than he was and really missed him, especially popping in to give him a final kiss and cuddle before I went to bed. He had a lovely time and when I picked him up this morning was already asking when he’ll be able to have another sleepover. I’m so pleased that he enjoyed himself. It’s that funny feeling of being happy that your little one is becoming more independent but also a tiny bit sad that they are becoming more grown up. With school on the horizon I think that this is something that I’m going to have to get used to, even though it still makes me feel a bit wobbly inside.

There have been other jobs to get done this weekend, including getting ready for our holiday which is approaching very soon. I am so excited about going away and feeling some real warmth and sunshine (I’m a bit fed up with all the rain, especially today). If I’m honest I feel like I really need a break and a rest. I’ve been feeling very restless over the past couple of weeks and sense that the winds of change may be blowing my way. I’m looking forward to having some time away with my family and just enjoying their company and the feeling of waking up with no plans or things to do.

My beautiful niece is turning three when we are away and I wanted to share one of her birthday presents with you…

IMGP0715

IMGP0719   IMGP0720

IMGP0718   IMGP0716

A little puffy blouse in one of my favourite fabrics. I used the same pattern as her Easter blouse but this time decided to leave off the bottom frill.

IMGP0708

IMGP0712   IMGP0711

IMGP0710   IMGP0709

A simple corduroy skirt with pink embroidered butterflies was the next addition to the outfit. This fabric was destined to be a pair of dungarees…however, after cutting out two left legs and making a bit of an epic mistake when sewing them together I decided to abandon the dungarees all together and settled on a little skirt instead. This was my first attempt at a skirt and I’m quite pleased with how it turned out. The pattern was from here and it was indeed an easy peasy skirt!

IMGP0733   IMGP0734

IMGP0736   IMGP0735

This little puffy hair bow was the finishing touch and I think that it’s my favourite bit of the whole outfit. I can’t wait to see it all together and I hope that she likes it.

 I’ll be taking a break from my blog for a little while and look forward to sharing some holiday pictures and holiday crafting pictures (oh yes, I’ve got a little stash of holiday craft planned!) with you when I get back.

Au revoir but only for a little while.

xxxxxxxxxxx

PS Thank you for your comments on my last post…I’m so pleased I’m not the only one with show tea towels!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Sunshine, bows and showers…

  1. Helen Smith says:

    What a lovely selection of fabrics I am excited to see what you make with them. A gorgeous outfit for your lucky niece. Hope you have a lovely holiday. X

Leave a Reply

