An Easter Birthday Party…

Hello there! How are you?

We’ve been so lucky to have some lovely weather over the past few days and I hope that the sun has been shining where you are.

Today was a special day. A few weeks ago I  was asked to host a children’s birthday party at The Fabric Warehouse. I was so excited and immediately said yes! The birthday girl already comes along to my Monday sewing class and I was really pleased to take part in her special day. Turning eight is a serious business and I started to think of possible ideas that we could complete in two hours.

Eventually I decided on tutu bags!

IMGP0446  IMGP0453

This is the sample bag that I made. I layered up two pieces of  pink net (one slightly paler than the other) that had been gathered using a wide running stitch. In between the layers were a few strands of pretty pink sequins. These were then stitched in place with a sewing machine (the net is a bit slippery!) and a felt bow was added for decoration. I can’t find the tutorial I used for the felt bow…my brain is feeling a bit frazzled this evening but there’s a great tutorial over at A Little Happy Place that you can find here.

I got the The Fabric Warehouse nice and early to get all the materials and bits and pieces ready.

I had made this little rosette for the birthday girl that was put next to her balloon covered chair…

IMGP0440  IMGP0439

Everyone had their own supply of felt, buttons, layers of pink net and plenty of threaded needles…

IMGP0448  IMGP0447

The room is already decorated beautifully and with the addition of balloons and flowers it looked so special…

 IMGP0451  IMGP0445

 IMGP0461  IMGP0450

When I was eight I would have LOVED a party like this!

There were party rings and french fancies – the BEST party treats…

IMGP0456  IMGP0455

There were ten little ladies some who had sewn before and others who hadn’t. Everyone got very engrossed in their bags and the room was very quiet as everyone concentrated hard on their creations. I was so lucky to have two wonderful helpers who made everything run very smoothly and made the party very special.

There was a lot of excitement when it was time to use the sewing machines and soon everyone had finished their bags. There was just enough time to make a matching hairband and here are a couple of pictures of the finished products!

IMGP0464 - Copy  IMGP0465 - Copy

I was so proud of my little stitchers and had such a great morning. It was a lovely start to the Easter weekend.

Happy Birthday!

xxxxxxxxxx

Standard

2 thoughts on “An Easter Birthday Party…

  1. Helen Smith says:

    It looks like a lovely time was had by all. What a lovely idea for a birthday party, and such cute bag to make. Xxx

Leave a Reply

